Jump to content





News Feed (View All Updates)


Photo

\help Required For Code Reader


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 cyril

cyril

    Cyril

  • Members
  • 60 posts
  • 0 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:2005 ghia x tdci
  • Name:Cyril Walklet
  • Location:lancashire

Posted 01 December 2012 - 01:00 PM

Hello folks

I have recently purchased a F- Super mk 2 code reader which has l6 pins.

My plug socket has 5 pins at the top and 6 at the bottom. Can anyone advise me which cable I should obtain to plug into my laptop to read codes. Mk3 TDCI 53 reg.

Thanks. Cyril

#2 Fluidthegreat

Fluidthegreat

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 136 posts
  • 1 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:mk1 focus 1.6
  • Name:Lewis
  • Location:essex

Posted 01 December 2012 - 03:40 PM

Has it not got a USB on the end

MONDEO 2.0L TDCI 2004 (euro4)

#3 cyril

cyril

    Cyril

  • Members
  • 60 posts
  • 0 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:2005 ghia x tdci
  • Name:Cyril Walklet
  • Location:lancashire

Posted 01 December 2012 - 03:46 PM

Hi Fluidthegreat

Yes, the cable has a usb at one end but the other end does not seem to be compatable with the socket on the car.

Thanks.

Cyril

#4 salta

salta

    MEG Corporal

  • Members
  • 5,558 posts
  • 372 thanks

Posted 01 December 2012 - 06:04 PM

the reader i have does not have that problem but I suggest you plug the lead in or attempt to .. as there are probably spare pins on the plug. the plugs are a standard shape and have a standard amount of pins in the socket and standard amount of receiptor pins in the plug . also the shape of the plug is similar to the shape of the socket in your motor . soo plug it in and see if it adapts . it is sold for the intended connection so plug and play . s

#5 cyril

cyril

    Cyril

  • Members
  • 60 posts
  • 0 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:2005 ghia x tdci
  • Name:Cyril Walklet
  • Location:lancashire

Posted 01 December 2012 - 07:11 PM

Hi Salta,

Thanks for your reply to my query.

The plug and socket are the same shape and I did try to connect them but as they were so tight I thought that I had the wrong cable. I didn't want to force it in case I caused damage. I will have another go tomorrow.

Thanks again,

Regards, Cyril

#6 Fluidthegreat

Fluidthegreat

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 136 posts
  • 1 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:mk1 focus 1.6
  • Name:Lewis
  • Location:essex

Posted 01 December 2012 - 07:38 PM

i just put mine staight to the car. it is a tight fit but mine is fine
MONDEO 2.0L TDCI 2004 (euro4)

#7 PURPLE_2L_LX

PURPLE_2L_LX

    Mondeo Mk3 Moderator

  • Mondeo Mk3 Moderator
  • 16,812 posts
  • 787 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:Estate, TDCI 130 (6)
  • Location:westmidlands

Posted 01 December 2012 - 07:59 PM

I always support the socket on the car from behind when plugging it in.

A firm push is all thats needed. Dont fit it upside down :)

2004 TDCi 130 LX Estate. (6)


MK3 FUSE INFO CLICK HERE ......... FORD WIKI CLICK HERE ........... FORD ETIS CLICK HERE


Adding your location may find someone local who could offer assistance.

F-Super, Bluetooth OBDII (ELM) and a MS509 scanners (test subjects required).


#8 cyril

cyril

    Cyril

  • Members
  • 60 posts
  • 0 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:2005 ghia x tdci
  • Name:Cyril Walklet
  • Location:lancashire

Posted 01 December 2012 - 08:06 PM

Hi Purple 2l lX


I did support the fitting and it was the right way up. Will try again tomorrow.

Thanks

Cyril.

#9 cyril

cyril

    Cyril

  • Members
  • 60 posts
  • 0 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:2005 ghia x tdci
  • Name:Cyril Walklet
  • Location:lancashire

Posted 03 December 2012 - 11:43 AM

Hello Folks.
I have now connected the F-Super lean to the car - very tight fit-- and installed the CD and have live data on my laptop.

My Egr is blanked off and of course the eml light is illuminated. Should a fault code show up for this. No DTCs are detected according to the data. Also should there be three lights illuminated on the F-Super interface. Mine seems to have two lights on.

Any help would be appreciated.


Thanks.

#10 PURPLE_2L_LX

PURPLE_2L_LX

    Mondeo Mk3 Moderator

  • Mondeo Mk3 Moderator
  • 16,812 posts
  • 787 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:Estate, TDCI 130 (6)
  • Location:westmidlands

Posted 04 December 2012 - 11:09 PM

If the engine light is on you should have a fault code stored.

Its not a euro 4 car is it? If not then blocking the should not cause the engine light.

Check the ETIS link below and see what emissions your car has. Stage 4 = euro 4
EEC 7 = euro 3.

One light is the data transfer. Can you see live data? Revs and fuel pressure etc.

2004 TDCi 130 LX Estate. (6)


MK3 FUSE INFO CLICK HERE ......... FORD WIKI CLICK HERE ........... FORD ETIS CLICK HERE


Adding your location may find someone local who could offer assistance.

F-Super, Bluetooth OBDII (ELM) and a MS509 scanners (test subjects required).





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users