Jump to content





News Feed (View All Updates)


Photo

Mega fuse 175A


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 takee

takee

    DottoreST200

  • Members
  • 163 posts
  • 1 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:ST200
  • Location:Hungary

Posted 20 August 2011 - 12:21 PM

Does anyone happen to know where the mega fuse is located on a V6 mondeo? It is the main power fuse between the alternator and the battery.

On the USA versions (Contour, Mistique) it is behind the coil pack, just in front of the firewall, bolted onto the main cable harness case (right next to the lambda sensor's connector), just under the ignition distributor.

I disassembled the whole area to get to the alternator's plugs, but there is no mega fuse box. Did anyone ever saw it somewhere?
V6 Ghia converted to ST200

Sunroof installed in OEM quality. There is no such thing as impossible...

#2 siruncle

siruncle

    missing the "view new content" button

  • Regional Moderator
  • 15,931 posts
  • 979 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:mondeo 2.0 ghia mk2
  • Name:Pete
  • Location:Rutland

Posted 20 August 2011 - 12:28 PM

as far as i know there is not one, all the fuses are here in the wiki

http://www.fordwiki....lay_information

From Rutland, Leicestershire or Northamptonshire? Join the Rutland Group, http://www.talkford....land-area-page/ Leicestershire, http://www.talkford....leicestershire/ or Northamptonshire, http://www.talkford....rthamptonshire/
2000 (W) Mondeo Mk2 Ghia 2.0 Hatch in Stardust Silver, now needing a pair of front jacking point covers... msg me
 

Ever noticed that putting "anal" in front of some ford model names makes them sound funny? Fiesta, Probe, Ranger. Explorer, Maverick etc... lol


#3 philmon

philmon

    mondeo st200

  • Members
  • 9,071 posts
  • 61 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:mondeo st200
  • Name:Phil
  • Location:lancashire

Posted 20 August 2011 - 12:33 PM

Read this mate, http://www.talkford....-fuse-in-st220/

#4 takee

takee

    DottoreST200

  • Members
  • 163 posts
  • 1 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:ST200
  • Location:Hungary

Posted 20 August 2011 - 01:07 PM

as far as i know there is not one, all the fuses are here in the wiki

http://www.fordwiki....lay_information



Interesting, Contours definetely have one!
V6 Ghia converted to ST200

Sunroof installed in OEM quality. There is no such thing as impossible...

#5 siruncle

siruncle

    missing the "view new content" button

  • Regional Moderator
  • 15,931 posts
  • 979 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:mondeo 2.0 ghia mk2
  • Name:Pete
  • Location:Rutland

Posted 20 August 2011 - 01:12 PM

according to philmons link it appears to be mk3 mondys with this and cougars. in the uk it seems as though its only there if the motor is from brazil, interesting read, and am unsure why you'd need a 175a fuse... don't think the alternator is capable of creating that sort of power...?

From Rutland, Leicestershire or Northamptonshire? Join the Rutland Group, http://www.talkford....land-area-page/ Leicestershire, http://www.talkford....leicestershire/ or Northamptonshire, http://www.talkford....rthamptonshire/
2000 (W) Mondeo Mk2 Ghia 2.0 Hatch in Stardust Silver, now needing a pair of front jacking point covers... msg me
 

Ever noticed that putting "anal" in front of some ford model names makes them sound funny? Fiesta, Probe, Ranger. Explorer, Maverick etc... lol


#6 takee

takee

    DottoreST200

  • Members
  • 163 posts
  • 1 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:ST200
  • Location:Hungary

Posted 20 August 2011 - 01:20 PM

Read this mate, http://www.talkford....-fuse-in-st220/


Yepp, I thought so, this is a US spec. fuse. Then, I have nothing to worry about.

Thanks.
V6 Ghia converted to ST200

Sunroof installed in OEM quality. There is no such thing as impossible...

#7 stevedohc16v

stevedohc16v

    MEG Commander

  • Forum Moderator
  • 5,338 posts
  • 79 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:Many Fords!

Posted 20 August 2011 - 02:09 PM

The only UK Fords I've come across that use this fuse between the alternator and the battery are the Maverick 4 & 6 cylinder (this is a 120 amp fuse) Cougar 4 & 6 cylinder(175amp) ST220 (175 Amp) Mk2 Galaxy 4 & 6 cylinder (150 Amp) Focus C max all engines (150 Amp) and transits use fusible links but I'm not sure what they are rated at.

Steve

Current Mondeos are:
53 Ink Blue ST220 estate
97 Panther black 2.5 ghia X saloon
And my other toys are:
1994 Ford Escort RS2000 4x4
1987 Ford Capri 2.8i special
1988 Ford Sierra 1.6LX


#8 takee

takee

    DottoreST200

  • Members
  • 163 posts
  • 1 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:ST200
  • Location:Hungary

Posted 21 August 2011 - 07:10 PM

The red one is what I am talkin' about (pic taken in a Contour's engine bay).
V6 Ghia converted to ST200

Sunroof installed in OEM quality. There is no such thing as impossible...

#9 takee

takee

    DottoreST200

  • Members
  • 163 posts
  • 1 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:ST200
  • Location:Hungary

Posted 21 August 2011 - 07:10 PM

The red one is what I am talkin' about (pic taken in a Contour's engine bay).

Attached Thumbnails

  • Mondeo megafuse.jpg

V6 Ghia converted to ST200

Sunroof installed in OEM quality. There is no such thing as impossible...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users