Jump to content





News Feed (View All Updates)


Photo

ELM327 Interface Not Connecting to ECU?


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 daklone

daklone

    Megger

  • Members
  • 200 posts
  • 3 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo TDCI Titanium
  • Location:By The Seaside in West Sussex

Posted 05 February 2012 - 04:38 PM

Has anyone had any luck connecting to their ECU using an ELM327 v1.4 interface?

I have just bought a Bluetooth version and although everything else seems to work correctly, it won't connect to my ECU.

I've tried all the software I can find (ScanmasterELM v2.1.104.771, wOBD v1.5.1 Beta, OBD2Spy v2.05 and v4.10, Scantool.net v1.13) but they all give a variation on the "no connection to ECU" error. I've tried manually selecting each of the different protocols one at a time, but no difference.

I've tried with the ignition in II and with the engine running, connecting to the device before/after moving the ignition to II or starting the engine but nothing seems to help.

The car is a 2004 2.0TDCI Ghia BTW.

Any suggestions? Could it be that my car doesn't have EOBD? How would I tell?

dK


#2 jamesbrigden

jamesbrigden

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 69 posts
  • 0 thanks

Posted 05 February 2012 - 04:50 PM

Mine connects to the mk3 mondeos, it isnt bluetooth though, its the usb one. I use this software, the free version. http://easyobdii.com/ Have you installed the drivers?

#3 compuwiz_uk

compuwiz_uk

    Super Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 18,591 posts
  • 326 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:2001 1.8 Mk3 Mondeo
  • Location:West Yorkshire

Posted 05 February 2012 - 05:32 PM

ditto with mine

no problems connevting other than when connected in the wrong order or my pc decides to change the com port assigned to the unit.

Mines a usb v1.3 if memory serves though, and i now use a software called Engine Check as the freebie stuff that came with the cable were not that cracking for live data readings etc.

Too many mods to list in here but they can be seen here


Most Common MK3 Question / Problems have solutions listed in the WIKI - Click Here
 
Ford Etis Vehicle Information - Click Here


#4 jamesbrigden

jamesbrigden

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 69 posts
  • 0 thanks

Posted 05 February 2012 - 05:35 PM

Easy obd detects the com port, you dont need to pick what one to use.

#5 daklone

daklone

    Megger

  • Members
  • 200 posts
  • 3 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo TDCI Titanium
  • Location:By The Seaside in West Sussex

Posted 05 February 2012 - 07:44 PM

Thanks for the replies chaps.

I don't think I need any drivers, as the device connects via a Bluetooth virtual COM port. The software talks to it as though it were any normal serial device on an RS232 port. The device lights one red LED as soon as it's connected to the car (whatever the ignition position), then the other LEDs light in sequence. This happens again when it gets reset by the software. When the software is talking to it, I can see the yellow LED flashing, so I'm pretty sure that they are communicating OK. It seem to be that the ECU just doesn't "answer" when called to do so.

Is it possible to connect the device upside-down? I have the LEDs on the top, with the narrow part of the connector that has the "bump" at the top also. Some I see on the web are the other way around, with the narrow part of the connector at the bottom (opposite face to the LEDS)??

compuwiz_uk: What do you mean by "connected in the wrong order"?

dK


#6 daklone

daklone

    Megger

  • Members
  • 200 posts
  • 3 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo TDCI Titanium
  • Location:By The Seaside in West Sussex

Posted 05 February 2012 - 08:43 PM

To clarify, mine is like this one (narrow part of connector & "bump" nearest LEDs):

Posted Image

Whereas I see some others are like this (narrow part of connector & "bump" furthest from LEDs):

Posted Image

dK


#7 jamesbrigden

jamesbrigden

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 69 posts
  • 0 thanks

Posted 05 February 2012 - 09:21 PM

What do you mean connect it upside down? It can only connect one way round because of the shape of the diagnostic port.

#8 jamesbrigden

jamesbrigden

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 69 posts
  • 0 thanks

Posted 05 February 2012 - 10:15 PM

Mine is like the 2nd pic, where did you get yours?

#9 daklone

daklone

    Megger

  • Members
  • 200 posts
  • 3 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo TDCI Titanium
  • Location:By The Seaside in West Sussex

Posted 05 February 2012 - 10:33 PM

Looking at the shape of the port on the car, I wonder if it would fit either way up?

Got mine from Amazon: http://www.amazon.co...duct/B005ILJ34U

Interestingly, I now notice that the picture accompanying the listing shows the second orientation of connector (as you have), NOT the orientation I actually have.

dK


#10 Jonsen

Jonsen

    TF regular

  • Members
  • 559 posts
  • 21 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo
  • Location:Yorkshire + Staffordshire

Posted 06 February 2012 - 06:52 AM

Tried two different elm327's on my 06 plate. Couldn't get either working. Got a f super and that works fine :L

54 Mondeo ST220 - Weekend / track use - Car Diary

09 Audi TTS - 2.0 TFSi 272bhp, Quattro, DSG, Mag Ride + Launch control!

12 Focus Zetec 1.6 TDCi - 50mpg and slow
59 Seat Ibiza 1.4 "Sport" - At least its a petrol! - Sold
60 Mini Cooper D - 60mpg and handles like a go kart - Spent 80+ days at the dealer getting repaired so went back after 11 months
06 Titanium X 2.2 TDCi - 40mpg but not quick enough - Sold
57 Titanium X 2.5 Turbo - 20mpg but a proper sleeper - Sold





3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users