Jump to content





News Feed (View All Updates)


Photo

Dab Radio


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Pinstripe

Pinstripe

    Member

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • 0 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:Focus Tit Est 1.6T
  • Name:Ray
  • Location:essex

Posted 16 March 2013 - 04:34 PM

Hi,

perhaps its just me being a Muppet, but I can't seem to get this function working.

When I manually seek stations under DAB1 and 2 in the radio menu, it finds absolutely nothing & if I use the scan option, I get a 'No Reception' message.

I have tried this with the DAB service link option in the Audio settings menu checked and unchecked with the same results.

Is there another option(s) which I need to enable; am I misunderstanding how DAB works?

Any guidance gratefully received.

Cheers
Ray

#2 thelegendofyrag

thelegendofyrag

    Member

  • Members
  • 26 posts
  • 0 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:Focus MK3 Titanium X
  • Location:suffolk

Posted 20 March 2013 - 08:49 PM

My dab is awful, I presumed it was meant so you got reception to a station wherever you are?

However mine drops out regularly even if I am within the usual fm area, so just use fm

#3 smartly

smartly

    Likes to chat

  • Members
  • 197 posts
  • 8 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:Ford Focus Mk3
  • Name:Steve
  • Location:England

Posted 20 March 2013 - 10:55 PM

You need to read up on how DAB works. If you tune to Radio 1 for example then if you drive from Manchester to London it should stay clear all the way it will pick it up from transmitter to transmitter. If you tune to a local Manchester station you will lose it when you move out of range of the transmitter a bit like FM.

Mine works fine on a 125 mile journey on Radio 1.

Ford Focus Mk3 1.6TDCi Titanium, in Candy Red with Appearance Pack and Convenience Pack

 

On order 2014(14) Ford Focus Navigator Titanium X, 1.0 125PS, Frozen White with Appearance pack


#4 Pinstripe

Pinstripe

    Member

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • 0 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:Focus Tit Est 1.6T
  • Name:Ray
  • Location:essex

Posted 20 March 2013 - 11:28 PM

Thanks for the replies lads, but the problem was actually getting the unit to find any digital stations at all!

I've now sorted this, and it was me being a Muppet, so I'll say nor more :dang:

#5 whoareyou

whoareyou

    Just Joined TF!

  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • 0 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo

Posted 15 August 2013 - 07:44 PM

Pinstripe.

How did you do this please?

#6 mrwilko1973

mrwilko1973

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • 0 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:Focus MK3 1.6TDCi

Posted 16 August 2013 - 05:56 AM

I also struggle with this. Dan picks up radio 1 but others no reception. Manual scan from here I can find other bbc stations but how do I store them under a different preset. Manual is a bit rubbish

#7 whoareyou

whoareyou

    Just Joined TF!

  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • 0 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:Mondeo

Posted 16 August 2013 - 09:54 AM

/>
I also struggle with this. Dan picks up radio 1 but others no reception. Manual scan from here I can find other bbc stations but how do I store them under a different preset. Manual is a bit rubbish


Stupid question mrwilko, but when you scanned do you do it within a particular 'block'?

#8 grogee

grogee

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  • 0 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:Focus Mk3 1.6 TDCi
  • Name:George
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 04 September 2013 - 02:42 PM

Not a stupid question, and the handbook is no help at all.

 

The answer lies in looking at specific blocks, which will vary by region as previous poster mentioned.

 

In the end I looked up which 'block' my favourite stations were on (Wiki? BBC? Can't remember) then went straight to those to find them on my Ford DAB unit.



#9 chriscatt

chriscatt

    MEG Sergeant

  • Members
  • 4,473 posts
  • 76 thanks
  • Vehicle Driven:2014 A3 Saloon
  • Location:eastsussex

Posted 04 September 2013 - 04:35 PM

After scanning and finding each station, this is done manually not by auto search and one at a time, the number button on which you wish to store the station under must be pressed and held down until there is a indication it has been stored..


Edited by chriscatt, 04 September 2013 - 04:35 PM.

2013 Fiesta Titanium X       2014 A3 Saloon 1.4 TFSI S-Line
1.0L 100ps Ecoboost          Daytona Grey
Candy Blue.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users