Ford Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
MEG Corporal
801 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
can brakes(pads 5-7mm friction matterial left) wear cause the front to vibrate as though the wheels are not balanced ?
it happens on certain motorway surfaces only speed at and just abit above 70 and sometimes on sharp braking from 70-60.

·
MEG Corporal
801 Posts
also to add to the confusion sometimes when i stop and revers for parking i got a click as though the calipper has given back and the pad is loose. another thing more apparent recently is when i stop after driving a while on a trafic lights or to wait on a slope and release the pedal slightly allowing the car to move, there is a sound like the pad are sticking to the discs and giving up gradually.
any ideas, please?
:thankyousign:

·
MEG Corporal
1,387 Posts
I'm no expert, but it could be warped discs, or it could be sticking pistons in the calliper, or the caliper itself not moving freely. Sounds like you need to clean the calipers up a bit, make sure they are free, and check the movement of the pistons. The rubber dust covers can perish and allow water/damp in, and the ground surface becomes pitted and rusty. Sometimes a good stripdown and clean will sort it.

·
MEG Corporal
801 Posts
wow,
i scrubbed the rust(and dust) and oiled (wd40)the rubber bits(protecting the sides of the pistons) a few weeks ago when i replaced the knuckles with new bearings. also put "plenty" of copper grease on all contact surfaces. I am not so concerned of the rubbing noise when breakes applyed and the car is moving a bit.
The main prob is the vibration i get on the different motorway sufaces. I noticed that after changing the front tyres(and before changed the knuckles), but went back for rebalancing and got them rebalanced at another place. so it is not the tyres i believe.
my fronts shocks are adjustable and at hihger settings the vibration is damped to sertain extend, but that is not the way to cure it.

·
MEG Corporal