Ford Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Mosquito
Mondeo MK 3 2.2 TDCI Ghia X
564 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2006, Mondeo MK3 2.2 TDCI

So, this is my first car with a turbo and I want to understand everything my brain will allow.

I do have a basic understanding of the principles of how a turbo works, as do I have some knowledge of differences between variable and fixed vane turbos. What I want to know exactly, is what type of turbo I've got.

What I believe;

I have a variable vane turbo, with an electronically controlled actuator. (Cannot find any concrete info. to substantiate or confirm this, 100%)

(Haven’t taken turbo cover off yet, but can see the actuator - picture below).

Not to sure;

• Is variable vane turbo the same as variable geometry turbo ?

• A variable vane turbo has a MAF, a fixed vane does not. (Read on this forum).

• A variable vane turbo does not have a wastegate (or does not need a wastegate). All info. read, states this.
I’m sort of getting there, when I see this in the Haynes manual - Ford Mondeo, July 2003 to 2007, Petrol and Diesel.

The text doesn’t mention actuator, only wastegates and both pictures have wastegates.

Now I am a bit confused, which doesn’t take much 😳😁

Am I missing something ? or should I consider a psychological assessment.

Any help or enlightenment will be greatly accepted and appreciated.

Publication Newspaper Font Material property Book

Wheel Tire Motor vehicle Automotive tire Hood

Book Font Publication Parallel Illustration

Publication Book Sleeve Automotive tire Font

·
Super Moderator
30,347 Posts
There are fixed vane turbo's with a MAF also.

Wastegate poorly labelling in my opinion, if someone asked me what that part was I would have replied its the
vacuum actuator for the variable vanes or the vacuum actuator for the wastegate on a fixed vane turbo.

The wastegate is operated by the rod in 13.6a where it enters the manifold on the right. 6 is not the wastegate.

·
Mosquito
564 Posts