Ford Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have recently purchased a 1999 mondeo zetec 2 litre petrol with 53000 miles on the clock.The gear stick has excessive movement in it when it is engaged in gear, regardless of whatever gear that is.
I have been underneath and the gear selector linkage consists of two cables connected between lever and gearbox. I have no experience with this type of linkage and have only had cars with a solid mechanical linkage in the past.
do these cables stretch causing the problem i have?and if they have streched can you adjust them?
or is the problem in the gearbox?
any suggestions,advice or experience in this matter !!!!!!!......cheers.... :thankyousign:

·
TDDI Buff
37,060 Posts
get a short shifter

·
MEG's Resident Removal Man
2,220 Posts
Cables have stretched on mine a bit but that makes some gear changes at different outside temps either easy or difficult to change gears.

I checked out my stick under my gator and noticed 2 things. 1, there was only two Torx screws in it and 2, both were loose and the support plate underneath had plenty of movement.

Undo the 2 screws where your ciggie lighter/ashtray is and the 3 in the cd/armrest compartment and give it a small yank up and pull it back. The gearbox gaitor will pop out if prised in the right place (the gaitor is attatched to plast btw) and then remove that along with the gear knob and have a butchers.

Hope this could help..

jcth1

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
cheers,jcth1..just removed my console and what did i find !!!!!only TWO torx screws (there are locations for four)and both of them loose.must have been an economy drive by fords at the end of the 90`s.